Desires of my heart

I am very thankful today.  I got to sleep in a few minutes past 8 a.m.  Miss Eliana only woke up 1 time through the night and Andy got up once to snuggle because he had a bad dream.  James was off to church early to help clean and prepare for tomorrow’s service.  He has been sending me a daily text that includes a prayer for me in the mornings.  This morning I didn’t expect a text, and so I was pleasantly surprised.  Eliana had her morning Cheerios and scattered a handful of them onto the floor.  I guess putting that many Cheerios on her high chair tray wasn’t the smartest thing to do . . . I didn’t get angry or fuss at her.   She’s just figuring out what she is able to do.  Andy argued with me about sharing half a cinnamon roll. He wanted “the whole of it.” I just told him no . . . He is learning that he can’t have everything the way he wants it. This is a very hard lesson for an almost 4-year-old who is able to voice what he wants and what he does want very clearly.

I’m 30 and I think I know what I want and how to voice what I want.  I was struck today by how much of what I’ve always wanted I have.  I’m not talking about all the material things that I want.  I’m talking about things that have been my heart’s desires . . . wanting to marry, have children, to be a stay-at-home Mommy, to have people around me that love me and care about me.  I’m going to keep practicing Psalm 37:3-6 which says,

“Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture. Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him and he will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun.”

God knows my heart and he knows the desires of my heart. He knows you and your heart’s desires too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Mommy Thoughts

Leave a Reply

