Truth in Ink and Blood

Yesterday morning I watched the memorial video of Nicki Baker and I cried my eyes out.  She was a 30 years old and died of complications brought on by HELPP syndrome and worsened by the H1N1 virus. She died only 5 weeks after giving birth to a premature baby girl.  I never knew Nicki and only heard her story through a friend of a friend of Nicki’s.  Though Nicki was a stranger to me, her story has cut me to the core because of several different truths that it put before me. First of all, this life is fleeting. We do not know the number of days that we have to live on this earth.  Second of all, I get to be here for my children.  Thirdly, every life has a purpose, my life has a purpose. What do I do with these truths about life?

This morning I read my usual devotional, My Utmost for His Highest, by Oswald Chambers and the following words really struck me,

“When a truth of God is brought home to your soul, never allow it to pass without acting on it internally in your will, not necessarily externally in your physical life. Record it with ink and with blood— work it into your life. The weakest saint who transacts business with Jesus Christ is liberated the second he acts and God’s almighty power is available on his behalf.”

I need to work these truths into my life, and make them part of who I am, so that I can be free and unlock the power of God in me!  These truths are not new to me, but maybe I have not worked them into my life completely.  I am sharing this here in hope that it will be part of my recording it in “ink.”  What truths have you found that are not yet worked into your life or recorded with ink and with blood?

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Mommy Thoughts

Leave a Reply

