Strength in Suffering

I must say that as of late I felt that I am experiencing the pain and suffering of others more personally.  It is as if my own 2 month old nephew has died, as if my dear friend has died and left behind a beautiful baby girl, as if my own uncle is facing death and as if my father is suffering from Parkinson’s disease.  My own personal struggles seem to pale in comparison to the things that other people are going through.  Oswald Chambers’ My Utmost for His Highest seems to be speaking volumes into my life lately and yesterday’s devotional was about suffering. Chambers writes,

Are we partakers of Christ’s sufferings? Are we prepared for God to stamp out our personal ambitions? Are we prepared for God to destroy our individual decisions by supernaturally transforming them? It will mean not knowing why God is taking us that way, because knowing would make us spiritually proud. We never realize at the time what God is putting us through— we go through it more or less without understanding. Then suddenly we come to a place of enlightenment, and realize— “God has strengthened me and I didn’t even know it!”

Here’s yesterday’s entire devotional from My Utmost for His Highest.  In going through all these different struggles, even though they are not my own, I have been able to see God at work.   We are supposed  to bear each others burdens and hopefully in giving them up to God together we can find even more of God’s strength.  I have found a great deal of comfort from Casting Crowns song “I Will Praise You in This Storm.” God bless you where ever you are.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

