The dream

My family and especially James can tell you I have very detailed dreams.  Most of the time they are crazy scenarios, but my most recent dream was one I had last week.  I shared a little about it as a Facebook status, but because I can’t seem to get it out of my head I want to share more about it here.

I was in a crowded gymnasium with metal bleachers.  Large groups were filing in and when everyone was seated I was one of a few people holding a microphone in front of the crowd.  The crowd was similar to crowds hundreds I have been in before, but the difference was that I knew each and every single person.  I couldn’t name the people who were there, but I knew every face in the crowd.  It was a huge praise and worship gathering for God.  We were singing and praising God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit.  I made my way around the gymnasium holding the microphone for people to testify and share what God has done in their lives.

Thinking about being the one holding the microphone made me think of the song Step Up to the Microphone by my favorite Christian band The Newsboys. (Click the link to listen!) In truth I do want to be the one with the “microphone” if not literally then figuratively. I want to be the one telling others about what God has done for me. I want to lead others to God and let them know that it’s through Jesus’ birth, death and resurrection that we can belong to God’s family. I want to be the example.  I want to get others talking about belonging to Jesus.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the crowd. I feel like as of late God has been showing me more and more just how many people belong to Him.  We are all in this together.  We are all brothers and sisters in Christ.  Our differences don’t matter.  Our imperfections don’t matter.  All that matters is that we belong to Jesus. I usually don’t like to go with the crowd, but give me a crowd of believers any day . . . If you don’t know what I’m talking about, borrowing some Newsboys lyrics . . . . “if you don’t know, then you need to be told!”  Ask me or someone else that you know! I’ll step up to the microphone.  If you know what I’m talking about then I hope that you are part of my crowd!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “The dream

  1. Chas Busenburg

    I love that song, it really is amazing how many people can connect and how many people God will bring into your life if he feels you are prepared. So many times it is in a time when we aren’t by our standards, but we need to hold the microphone for them, and allow them to speak. Setting the example is of course encouraged. Thanks for the post , I needed it this morning.

  2. I don’t usually comment on blogs but had to on yours. You have a very distinctive writing style. A lot of people don’t have that touch, they just drone on and on in the most boring way. But not you – thanks! I really enjoy Bradley Hathaway’s poetry and it’s always nice to read from someone else who appreciates his work. I don’t have time to read all the information you have right now, I found this site while I was looking for something else on Google, but I’ve bookmarked your homepage and will check back soon to see the latest articles. Have you seen him in concert? I haven’t yet but keep hoping that someday see him live in concert. I’ve heard he’s wonderful in person. Click here if you’d like to check out my site. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

