Morning Mayhem!

My days as a stay-at-home are never boring.  Today Eliana woke up just before James left for work around 6 a.m. I am not sure why she keeps getting up this early and wanting to stay awake, but I can tell you I don’t like it.  She only woke up once through the night to nurse.  I have cut her back to nursing once and sadly it’s in the middle of the night, when she should be sleeping through the night.  I tried not allowing her to nurse, and giving her a sippy cup with milk or water in it.  The result is that both of us would be awake for 2 hours in the middle of the night.  I gave up! I need to sleep!  Joshua woke up and was his usual happy self.  “Hi Mommy mommy mommy!” he says as he greets me and gives me a hug! I have to get video of this because he’s just so cute when he says this.  He does this all day, sometimes when I’ve only left the room for a minute.   Andy woke up and didn’t say anything to anyone just sat in front the tv.  He didn’t even respond to Joshua’s “Hi Andy!”  Eliana was just sitting in my lap and fell back to sleep.  What a punk!  She gets to sleep and I get to be awake with her brothers!  Oh to be one and have not a care in the world!   I asked the boys what they want for breakfast, pancakes or oatmeal.  Joshua says very firmly, oatmeal.  What kid chooses oatmeal over pancakes?  I guess I must made a mean bowl of oats . . . with brown sugar and cinnamon.   Andy wanted pancakes.  When the pancakes are ready Andy comes to the table and asks if we are going to church and if Daddy is going to eat with us.  I tell him that Daddy went to work.  This gets protests from Joshua who says, No Daddy work. Daddy stay here with us.   Andy asks, “Where is the bacon? I did not want only pancakes”  I tell him that we don’t have any bacon and he asks if we have eggs.  Then he checks the fridge himself and gets out the eggs.  This of course means he wants eggs.  So I make some scrambled eggs.  When I put them onto his plate he says, “If I eat all these eggs my belly will be hurt.”  I tell him he better eat the eggs because I made them just for him. He ended up eating most of the eggs after asking how many bites he needs to eat.  He’s happy to count the bites and always asks if I want him to take little bites or big bites.  I don’t think he’s caught on to the fact that I can pretty much guess how many bites it will take him to eat most of the food that I’m trying to get him to eat.  The eggs took 5 bites and another 2 big bites because I did not see or hear him count the first 5 bites.  Nice!  As soon as Andy’s finished Eliana wakes up for a round of cut up pancakes and a game of fetch that involves picking her cup up after she throws it over and over again.  It’s not even 10 a.m. yet.  I’ve gotta get a move on because something stinks!!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Mommy Thoughts

One response to “Morning Mayhem!

  1. Angie Wright

    Whew… I’m exhausted in simply reading your morning! Here’s a confession: My children get offered cereal or grapes, or occasionally, pancakes (that I buy FROZEN). LOL.

    Oh, and before I go, I gotta tell you that I love that final line. Only a mom can truly appreciate that.

    And just one more thing, cause it’s so cute… Jaylee says,”Pleeaaassse! I want Josh!” (She saw his picture at the top here.

    Love ya,
    Angie

Leave a Reply

