In the Eyes of a Child

James and I decided to take Andy along with us to my ultrasound of the baby.  Andy was totally amazed as the ultrasound tech pointed out the baby’s head, brain, spine, arms, legs, heartbeat.  He was just a tiny bit surprised to find out he’s getting a baby sister and I shared before that he wanted to name her Mrs. T Rex, but his first answer when Daddy asked what we should name the baby was “nothing.”  He’s warmed up to the idea having another baby sister.  He tells me very seriously that the baby is growing inside of me and the baby is getting bigger. He also tells me that when the baby comes we will have 3 boys and 3 girls in our family.  He has learned that the baby can hear us talking to her, and so he talks to her and it’s about the sweetest thing in the world.   Things that we take for granted are new and amazing and full of wonder in the eyes of children.

It’s the little things like putting peanut butter and jelly on bread that earn me the title of “super hero,”  in Joshua’s eyes.  When I fulfill his request for something to eat or drink  he answers with not just one thank you but three thank you’s in a row.   Everything is important in his eyes and he makes it clear in the way that he says things.  Some of his favorite statements these days are “Mommy, I have a problem,” I have a question for you!” “I need to show you something!” “Mommy, are you listening to me?”  “Are you watching?” I can’t place the accent that he uses sometimes when he talks, but it cracks me up.

I can’t remember when I stopped being filled with awe and wonder at the world around me.  I can’t remember when I stopped finding the importance of the little every day things.  I feel like I am able to go back in time when I look at the world through the eyes of my children. You may just find something that you were missing out on when you look at things through the eyes of a child.

Leave a comment