Little Hands and Little Feet

Mother’s Day has gotten me thinking a lot about my job.  There are five painting hanging in my kitchen. They are all paintings of my kids’ hand prints and foot prints. I absolutely love them! I’ve wanted to put something on that wall for a long time, but it had to be something that didn’t require nails because there is paneling there.  Kid art seemed the way to go!

I believe that everyone has something that they were born to do.  I believe that everyone has something that God has called them to do.  I have always wanted to be a Mom.  My dream was always to have  two children, one boy and one girl.  We all know how that has turned out!  Having two boys, one girl and another baby girl on the way was not in my plan, but now I do believe that it was and is God’s plan for me.

I hesitate to share the following story, but I feel like it helps me to share. Someone that I don’t see very often, but whom I used to respect a lot (*please note the use of the past tense) was talking to me and joking about how many kids I have. I was as serious as I could be when I told her that I think that it’s a calling. She proceeded to laugh in my face and she also had others joining her in laughing at me.  My so-called friend has no idea what it means to have a calling, let alone what it means to be a Mom.

I’ve come to the conclusion that some people are clueless and they will remain clueless.  I don’t expect everyone to understand why I have chosen to have 4 children or why I have chosen to stay at home with my children.  What I do expect is for people to  respect my choices. Not just because they are my choices, but also because being a Mom is what I believe and know God has called me to do.

The little hand prints and little foot prints on my kitchen wall are just a little  reminder of the huge and super important job that I have of helping my children to grow, to learn, and most importantly to love!

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Family, Mommy Thoughts

Leave a Reply

