Leaving Stuff Behind

If you were to leave your home behind for two months, what things would you take with you and what things would you leave behind? There are only 4 days until the kids and I leave to join James at Boy Scout Camp in the big woods of Hoosier National Forest in Bloomington, Indiana.

I’m only taking a week’s worth of clothes for everyone.  I’m only taking one small box of toys. Each of the kids will take their favorite stuffed animal and blanket. I will take my laptop because I want to keep in touch with my family and friends and because I will use it for my job as Camp Photographer. Of course I’m taking my camera!

I’m leaving lots of things behind!  Preparing to live with less for two months out of the year makes me really stop and ponder why I have so much stuff! I have family in Philippines that are very poor and even though they do not have much in the way of material possessions they are happy. Why do I have so much stuff?  Maybe it’s because I live in America, the land of the free, the home of the having lots of stuff! Maybe it’s because I have always had lots of stuff.

My oldest made the comment the other day that our house is the castle where Mommy is the queen and Daddy is the king. I like to think that our home in the woods will be the same . . .  our castle in the big woods with a lot less stuff!

This post is part of Steady Mom’s 3o min. blog challenge.

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Living Well

4 responses to “Leaving Stuff Behind

  1. Wow…two months! What a great exercise. You may come home and find that you’re ready to have a big ol’ garage sale!

  2. Mel

    This seems like it would be a good exercise to help clear out clutter too. What’s truly important too me and what would I take? My camera of course! A few sentimental items, but most of it is pure junk. I guess I have some cleaning to do, HA!

    Going to a cabin for 2 months sounds wonderful! I hope you have a wonderful time.

  3. I’m sure it will be a great experience – You’re sure to either be ready to part with even more by the time you get home or have a renewed appreciation for what you have! 🙂

    If your kids are anything like mine – a little water dirt, sticks and rocks make for some GREAT toys what will be waiting for you!!

    And, if you’ll have an int. connection to keep in contact you could utilize hulu for some kids shows on a rainy day if needed.

    Hope you have a great trip!

  4. I moved for work for 4 months a few years ago. drove in an suv to florida from utah. I had someone stay in my house to take care of my cats but I took my dog. and clothes. and toiletries. and pillows and blankets (cause I like mine and it seemed stupid to buy new when I have them at home) and towels. I did have to buy stuff there but not much. I agree I think quite often I have too much stuff…I could pack up half my home and probably not miss it, till I needed that item that you only need once every 6 months but then its stupid to buy it over and over if you don’t keep it, right? I was just thinking today I’ve gotta get stuff packed up and put away (we are losing our house and right now I have no idea where we are moving) and trying to determine what would I leave out so that I don’t have to spend money I don’t have on buying new. books…while I can leave them behind for a while my favorites and those for my son I always want.

    but much of it is just stuff.

Leave a Reply

