Due Dates Come and Due Dates Go

Well, I have to confess that been in denial for a few days.  I was so certain that this baby girl would make her appearance before her due date that I just could not believe that she hasn’t come yet.  Each one of my kids until now has come earlier than the last.  It’s after 7 p.m. on Sunday night and this means that if I go into labor in the next hour or two the little miss will not be born until some time tomorrow!  James posted on his Facebook that he “seems to be waiting on this baby as long as Moses had to wait for the promised land.” I could not agree more!  Time seems to move at a snail’s pace!  Maybe it’s because I was away from home for so long over the summer, but these last few weeks and especially these last few days have seemed to last forever.

I wish I didn’t have an pre-labor symptoms. I was almost dilated to 3 cm and I was 90 % effaced when I saw the doctor on Thursday. I’ve been having lots of contractions, to the point of actually thinking I was going into labor this past Tuesday.  Other things that I am sure you do not care to read about have been going on as well.   The combination of all these things make it impossible to proceed with “life as usual” without constantly being reminded that I am still waiting.

One friend reminded me that the baby will come soon, and another reminded me that I can’t stay pregnant forever.  The doctor made the comment that if I have the most stubborn baby in the world an induction is scheduled for September 3rd.  I am starting to think I may have to retract my reply, “I don’t think I have the most stubborn baby in the world.” For now I am just going to have to wait.  After all dates come and due dates go for pregnant moms all over the world!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Due Dates Come and Due Dates Go

  1. I wish I had something inspiring or even slightly useful or good to say, but I don’t so I’ll just keep praying!

    *big hugs and prayers of waters breaking!* 😀

Leave a Reply

