The First Day . . .

Yesterday and today Facebook have been filled with statuses saying “Happy New Year”and the sharing of New Year’s Resolutions . .  . some want to quit smoking, others want to lose weight, still others want to be more positive.

I told my friend that I was going to borrow what she posted for my blog post. She wrote, “This year I want to live, every day, intentionally.” I cannot agree more with her and I could not say it any better!

I want to pray more, because praying for others takes my focus of myself and my own problems and puts my life into proper perspective. When I think that I am having a hard time I don’t have to look far to find someone who is having a harder time. We all need help and praying for others is sometimes the least and the most that we can do for someone.  When I pray constantly I stay focused of what is really important in my life and I plug into God the source of all good.

I want to yell less. :::Confession::: I yell a lot. I come from a long line of people who yell when they are upset or angry. I hate that I do it, but sometimes I cannot help myself. I have been trying to whisper when I feel like yelling and to be honest I have not been doing a good job at it.

I want to keep my priorities in check. Something that has been running through my head over and over the past week or two is this simple truth. “Life is all about your priorities or your lack thereof.” Too many people, myself included don’t realize that in their making or not making priorities they are causing irreparable damage.

I want to point people to God in everything I say and do. I want to do all things in love. I want to be the “Michelle” that God wants me to be. I want to share with others that I’ve found someone who is always there for me.

It’s January 1, 2011 and, to borrow lyrics from the song “Hold Us Together,” This is the first day of the rest of your life . . . .”  Some things are out of your control, but so much of life is what we choose to make it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Family, Living Well

Leave a Reply

