A Song For The Storms

Sometimes life is full of stormy weather.  While we are enjoying warmer weather and melting ice and snow life has been tumultuous. The following are the lyrics to a song I learned a long time ago at a Vacation Bible School.

When a boat sailed in the stormy waters

Jesus stood

and ordered the winds to cease

Calming the stormy sea

Lord, give me strength to be unafraid

When I feel the storms around me

Come in and calm my trouble heart

and stay with me

Be close to me

This is one of the songs that I sing to the kids every night at bedtime.  They call it the “Storm Song.”  Tonight when I sang it I fought to hold back tears.  I know that God is with me. He is my peace in times of trouble and my shelter in the storm.

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family, Living Well

2 responses to “A Song For The Storms

  1. I’m praying for you and your family, my friend. God is great and in control. One of my favorite storm songs has lyrics that say, “Sometimes God calms the storm; other times He calms His child.” I pray that He calms your storm and you as well.

  2. Ryan

    i remember singing this song in chorus in grade school, i’ve been trying to find a recording or performance of it somewhere on the internet, this is the first thing i’ve been able to find in years, you wouldn’t happen to know the name of the song? God Bless!

Leave a Reply

