A Little Decorating

Due to my current “condition” and James busy work schedule/getting over the pneumonia or whatever plaque he’s been dealing with and his newly discovered asthma the switching rooms has taken a little bit of time.  I don’t mind though, because it gives me more time to think of ideas for decorating.

Since the kids have shared one room there are two walls that have a row of laminated 8×10 photos of lots of different zoo animals.  There are also a few animal paintings that on foam. Andy who is on the top bunk has a sports themed comforter and Joshua has a camping themed comforter.  To go with the zoo photos animals my dear friend made the kids curtains that are safari-themed.  My friend also made us a matching light switch plate.  These will all be moved to the boys’ room.

Eliana recently moved to a twin size bed and so I got her purple sheets and a blanket that is purple with pink and aqua butterflies and flowers.  I searched and searched for curtains and even thought about making my own set for the girls, but finally I ended up buying the curtains that match Eliana’s blanket.  I still had to do some hand-sewing to shorten them a lot. (I actually almost cut them in half!)  I bought four 11×14 canvases to paint with different animals that are the girls’ favorites. Eliana has said that she wants a turtle and a bunny rabbit. I’m still debating about which animals to paint for Isabel, but I’m thinking about a bird and a fish.  I made the first painting today.

This was the photo I found online to use as my inspiration:

This is the final painting:

Eliana said she wanted a pink turtle. Pink is her favorite color, but it’s not really my favorite color so I added pink flowers and hearts to the turtle’s shell.  She loves it!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Arts & Crafts, Family

4 responses to “A Little Decorating

  1. you could have an excellent weblog here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my blog?

  2. Hallie Martin

    Another great post, thanks for the write up! Have a great day and cant wait to see future posts

  3. Cant wait to see future post

Leave a Reply

