Joys and Woes of Parenting

Around 4:30 this morning I opened my eyes to find Joshua standing beside my bed.  “My pants are wet,” are not the words Mommy wants to hear at this hour.  I sent him to the bathroom to undress and went to find  a flashlight so I could survey the amount of “moisture” in his bed.  Then I found some clean pajamas and gave them to him.  After stripping the bed and cleaning the plastic bed liner (Thank the Lord for whoever invented the bed liner!), I took his sheets into the laundry room and found clean sheets and another blanket to put on his bed.  I gave him a 1/2 dose of ibuprofen and put Vick’s on his chest and feet and tucked him into bed.

After all of that I was awake so I sat up and got on Facebook/played sweeps and won free mascara (I even don’t wear makeup but my Mom and my sisters-in-law do.) I could hear Joshua’s constant cough so I called him to come into the living room thinking maybe sitting up for a while would help him.  While he was sitting next to me coughing he gagged and got his pajama pants covered in mucous. I dug through clean clothes on the couch, and found another set of pajama pants. When Joshua was dressed again I asked if he was ready to try to go to sleep again and he said yes, so to his bed we went.

I almost went back to bed myself but I thought I’d sit up a little while longer.  I played a few more sweeps. While I was sitting up Eliana walked into the room.  I couldn’t even make out what she was trying to say.  She talks so softly when she wakes up that is just sounds like squeaking to me.  It didn’t seem urgent just something about her covers.  I told her that it wasn’t time to get up, (It was some time around 5:30 at this point.) but that I would go back to bed with her.  I walked her to her room and covered her up and she went back to sleep.

After a second kid got up, I decided that it was time for me to try to get a few more winks and so I laid down in bed.  I was started to drift off when I heard Isabel crying.  She has been doing really well at sleeping through the night but sometimes she walks up and just wants to be comforted.  I held her and talked to her until it seemed she was asleep again.  When I put her back down she cried but I talked to her and rubbed her back and she finally calmed down.

It was a few minutes after 6 when I finally got back to sleep.  It seemed like 5 minutes passed when my alarm went off at 7.  Which brings me to this wonderful resource that I found about parenting with joy.

10 Point Manifesto of Joyful Parenting

“4. Today, when stress mounts, I pray to dismount it with gratitude. My stress management plan will be intervention with verbal thanks. I can only feel one feeling at a time, and I choose to give thanks at all times. Fight feeling with feeling!”

I feel tired and when I am tired, I feel stressed because of all that I still have to do.  No one else is going to do my job today, so I choose to be thankful for all the blessings that I have.  I am especially thankful for my children, even when they cause me to lose sleep! :::Yawn:::

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Mommy Thoughts

Leave a Reply

