My Day: Part Two

2:15 I nurse Danielle some more.  She falls asleep for a little while and I put her in her swing.

2:55 Joshua comes into the living room and asks to turn the t.v. on.  I tell him no and that he has to wait until Andy gets home.  A few minutes later we hear the bus and I have Joshua open the door.  When Andy gets off the bus Joshua opens the door and yells, “Andy! Andy! You’re home!”  Andy shows me his school work. I let him pick out a short movie to watch.  He chooses, “The Land Before Time: The Big Freeze”  These boys love their dinosaurs, but the girls love them too!

5:00 Danielle is still asleep. All that nursing is basically cluster-feeding that helps her get some hours of sleep in a row! I had a little photo session with Isabel just to check out how my little suitcase looked in photos. Isabel had fun but I really need to work with her if I want her to keep bows in her hair.  I’m not a girly girl and so I haven’t been very good at teaching my girls about hair accessories.  I put away the clothes that my mom folded earlier today.

James came home after work and his shoes and jeans were super muddy.  I washed the jeans by themselves because of all the mud.  This is the one and only time that there is ever one single item in the washing machine. Definitely not making a dent in the laundry heap!

5:20 Danielle is still asleep.  I am nervous about making dinner.  This is usually the time of day when she wakes up crying and I have to nurse her and nurse her.  She doesn’t make a peep.

6:00 Dinner is ready. I decided to make pancakes, sausage, and bacon.  James said he was tired of eating sausage.  Andy has been moaning for a half hour that he is hungry. In fact just before I started cooking dinner he came in and asked, “You haven’t started dinner, yet?”  Eliana has come in to tell me that she is starving. I believe her because I saw what she had for lunch and it wasn’t much!  Isabel must have been hungry too because while I was making pancakes and putting them onto plates she hopped into her booster seat and started begging for me to give her pancake.

6:30 Everyone is finished with dinner.  James watches some shows on Netflix and I sit down to work on the graphic design project that I’ve been working on for the past week or so.  I can’t believe that Danielle is still asleep but she did nurse and nurse and nurse all through the day today.  As soon as I type this line I’m going to wake her up so I can make sure she is good and tired for the night tonight.  The kids are playing in their bedrooms. Every so often one of them comes into the the living room to tell on each other. Joshua: “Eliana made me hurt myself.”  Andy: Joshua is making me mad. Eliana: “Isabel is NOT my best friend!”  Isabel has started screaming when she doesn’t get her way.  It’s one of those screams that makes you think she must be really really injured, but in actuality she is just mad!  They are learning all kinds of things.

6:45 The girls and I try to wake Danielle up. When I pick her up she won’t open her eyes. I pump her legs and she starts tooting up a storm.  Remember earlier today I thought she was gassy?  Well, let’s just say I was correct!  I change her diaper and she starts crying and crying. I nurse her and James and I start watching an episode of Cake Boss on Netflix.

7:20 Feeding Isabel and Cake Boss have made me miss my 7p.m. snack time goal.  I go into the boys’ room to ask that they pick up books so they can have a snack before bedtime. Joshua is not helping pick up books so Andy gets fruit snacks while Joshua and Eliana pick up books. When I check on the progress that Joshua and Eliana have made they have stacked the books vertically instead of horizontally. Instead of making them fix the books I let them have a snack.

7:30 Our bathroom routine to get ready for bed goes like this . . . Go to the bathroom, wash your hands, brush your teeth, and wash your face.  Joshua has been fighting me about brushing his teeth by himself and tonight is no exception!  He has had a runny nose and he never wants me to clean his nose out.  Tonight I laid him on the floor and sat on him to put saline drops in his nose.  He basically yelled and cried the whole time.

7:49 Andy remembered that he hasn’t done his homework yet! Oops! While he did his homework I helped Eliana and Isabel with their bathroom routines. Eliana kept saying that she didn’t want to go to bed.  Isabel was whiney so I put her in her crib before anyone else was in bed.

8:00 Andy did his bathroom routine without any help. Tomorrow is Andy’s hilarious hair day at school because his class is starting to learn the H sound.  I wet Andy’s hair and put three little patches up with pony tail holders. He said he wants to have three horns like a triceratops! We’ll see what it looks like in the morning! His bed head is always awesome in the mornings any way.

8:10 Read Andy’s library book as tonight’s bed time story.  Made up a story about five little aliens racing all over town.  The aliens were named Andy, Joshua, Eliana, Isabel and Danielle.  One cop told them they were going too fast and then another told them they were going too slow. The little aliens were obedient  and that made there Mommy and Daddy happy.  I sang Holy Night and said goodnight to the boys. Then Eliana wanted me to sing another song and so I asked her if she wanted me to sing Jesus Loves Me.  After this she gave me a hug and a kiss and I told Eliana and Isabel goodnight.

10:30 I’m still nursing Danielle. I have only put this baby down one time and she cried the whole time.  I got her dressed for bed and changed her diaper. She is sitting in my lap and squirming around but she is still asleep.  James and I watched the State of the Union address. I yawned and lost interest. James was interested but he was also really tired from work and fell asleep once.

10:45 Danielle is more still now while she sleeps and I think maybe just maybe I’m going to try to put her down for the night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Mommy Thoughts

Leave a Reply

