The Storms of Sickness

This too shall pass . . . eventually. For more than a month my house has been a hospital and I have been the acting head nurse. Someone has been sick at our house every single day, and most days it has been more than one person. I have given breathing treatments. I have dispensed antibiotics, eye-drops, breast milk, cough medicines, ibuprofen, and Immodium. Five out of our seven family members have been on antibiotics. We’ve had pink eye, bronchitis, ear infections, hacking coughs, wheezing, runny noses,  fevers, vomiting, and diarrhea.

*Warning* Skip the following paragraph if vomit stories make you ill.

There was one night one kid was standing beside me upset and crying. The next thing I know he started coughing. He gagged, and threw up pink flavored water and mucous all over his little sister’s shirt and pants, while she was sitting on the floor in front of him minding her own business. She instantly started yelling, crying, wildly flailing her arms and kicking her legs. He told his sister, “Sorry,” in the most pitiful voice ever. She did not come back with her usual carefree “That’s okay, accidents happen.” I must confess that I laughed. I couldn’t help myself. It was like a scene out of a movie. After the initial shock and horror was over,  I was able to calm my daughter down and give her a bath, and my husband helped my son clean up the floor.

During this storm of sickness I have found several things that make me thankful. I’m thankful for my washer and dryer, even though I loathe doing laundry for my family of seven. I don’t know how many times I have had to do an extra load of laundry to wash sheets because of someone throwing up in their bed, or having an accident. I can’t imagine not having a washer and dryer with sick kids. I’m thankful that our doctor, who has eight kids of his own, was so understanding when I kept calling to request antibiotics. I’m thankful for the healing power of breast milk, which I ended up using on a couple of the kids when they had pink eye. I’m also thankful for disinfecting wipes and spray to help me combat the germs!  I’m thankful that my baby sleeps through the night when it seems like a different kid wakes up in the middle of the night every night!

The latest victim is yours truly with a nasty tummy bug.  You know that near-death and completely drained of all energy feeling that you get when you haven’t eaten anything all day long?  That is how I felt yesterday. Thank God today has been a much better day!

There have been days when I felt like I was at the end of my rope and that if one more kid got sick that I would lose it.  Now we are sharing colds.

I know God loves us and cares for us. My prayer tonight is, “Lord, come quickly and heal my family.  Protect us from all nasty germs! Surely we can’t be sick forever and this too shall pass. Thank you in advance for what you are going to do. Amen.”  I am confident that He is listening to my prayers and the prayers of those who will pray with me for my family!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting

Leave a Reply

