Ups and Downs

You don’t have to pick up a newspaper or turn on the news to know that life is filled with positives and negatives.  In my life some people disappoint me and others go above and beyond my expectations. I try to think of myself as a very positive person. I’d like to say that most of the time I wear a smile on my face. When in the midst of “floods” both literal and figurative, I try to stay positive. Sometimes I find myself completely and totally overwhelmed. Sometimes I am overjoyed.

I was listening to a sermon online and the pastor was speaking about gratitude and how it can’t be based on our circumstances. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about all the ups and downs of life. Every single day people face all kinds of hardships. The loss of a family member. Sickness. The loss of a job.  The loss of a baby. The loss of a relationship. On the flip side, every single day people experience all kinds of joys. Time spent with family and friends. Spring break. A new home. Hitting the gym. Laughter.  A new baby. A new job. A wedding.  These are just some examples from my Facebook news feed!

While singing to the boys at bedtime the other night, I noticed a sticker on the snout of my son’s piggy bank. It was 1 Thessalonians 5:18. I looked up the verse and found some good advice for all of life’s ups and downs. This is verses 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 “Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” I pray that whether you are up or down and even if you are some where in between you can keep rejoicing, praying and giving thanks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

