Positive Perspective

The other day I remembered a verse from the Bible that says “never stop praying.” This passage has lots of good advice, but these three things are among my favorites found in 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18:

Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.

Life is all about our perspective. I have a choice about whether to be joyful or grumpy. I can choose either to talk to God about things or to not talk to Him. For me that is what prayer is, simply talking to God about things. I can be thankful or I can complain.  Choosing joy, prayer, and thankfulness are so much better than the alternatives.

My son took the above photo and I originally started to crop out more of the background, (I still cropped out my cluttered counter!) but upon second glance I left in the photos on my fridge and the the handprints on the wall.  These things serve as reminders to me and my family to pray. Photos of our friends who minister in East Asia remind us to pray for their family. A Save the Date card reminds us to pray for our friends who are now newlyweds. Painted handprints and footprints that decorate our wall remind me that I am helping little hands and feet grow. These prayer reminders give me joy and make me thankful!

Imagine if everyone learned to be joyful, to pray at all times, and to be thankful for what they have.  My perspective starts with me and can affect everyone around me.  I want to display a positive perspective in everything I say and do. It is not an easy task, but I am going to try.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Family, Living Well, Parenting

Leave a Reply

