How We Grow

I am shocked at how much Miss Danielle has learned to do this week. She was sitting up while leaning on one arm and doing an army crawl for a couple weeks. Then she was sitting up on her own and crawling on all fours the next day. The day after that she pulled herself up onto her knees and yesterday she pulled herself up to stand next to her toy piano and the couch. One thing will lead to another and soon she’ll be walking, running, and jumping on her own.

Although I wish I could slow the growing process down for my kids I want to help them grow to be their very best. I think it’s the same way with God and his children. God wants to help us grow to be our very best.

I look back on my life, at my past, and I see how I have gotten to where I am right now, and how God helped me grow all along the way. I stayed up late one night reading through one of my prayer journal from my last years of college. That year was a turning point in my life. There were so many different people’s names were found on the pages of my journal. Most of the people in my prayers are people I still keep in touch with now via Facebook and e-mail.

My cousin wrote about the birth of her son the other day and it reminded me that it has been 14 years this month since I went on a mission trip to Alaska! I am blessed to still be in touch with many friends that I met that fateful summer! That summer 14 years ago changed how I see my relationship with God in that it became much more personal. I learned that Jesus wants me to talk to him 24/7, and to include Him in every part of my life, because He is walking with me every single step of the way since I decided to follow Him.

This quote from Oswald Chambers’ book “My Utmost For His Highest” fits nicely with what I have been reflecting on,

“A spiritually vigorous saint never believes that his circumstances simply happen at random, nor does he ever think of his life as being divided into the secular and the sacred. He sees every situation in which he finds himself as the means of obtaining a greater knowledge of Jesus Christ, and he has an attitude of unrestrained abandon and total surrender about him.”

God has been with me and He is always with me. He never leaves me. God knows where I am right here and right now and He knows how I need to keep growing. He’s always had a plan for me and He’s not finished with me! What I have been learning about most these days is love, but I’ll share more about that in another post. How are you growing?

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, Family, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting

One response to “How We Grow

  1. Angie wright

    I love this and I love that quote!!! I’ve been meaning to purchase that book for a while now and, after reading that quote, I’ve decided that I’ve definitely gotta get it and SOON! Just as you’ve been thinking on love, I’ve been thinking about harmony lately… The thought just came to me that LOVE creates HARMONY in our life, in our relationships, and in our spiritual journey. Beautiful…

Leave a Reply

