When I Grow Up

It all started when Andy asked, “Do you think I will be a paleontologist when I grow up?” He watches a lot of the PBS show “Dinosaur Train.” I told him that he can be a paleontologist if he wants to, but he might change him mind when he gets older.  He started to get upset and protested, “I don’t want to change my mind!” I started sharing with him all the things that I wanted to be when I was growing up.  Several light bulbs went on in my head as I was sharing my list of all the things that what I wanted to be when I grew up.

I wanted to be a teacher. I have been a teacher; A day care teacher. A Sunday School teacher. Being a mom is the toughest and yet the most rewarding teaching job EVER!

I wanted to be a Mommy. I always thought I’d have 2 kids. TWO! In case you don’t know, I have 5 kids!

I wanted to be a veterinarian. Okay, I have never actually been a vet but I did a short stint as an assistant at a local Vet’s office.

I wanted to be a pediatrician. Does the name Dr. Mom ring a bell? If years of experience count toward a PhD then I am pretty sure I can cross pediatrician off my list.

I wanted to be a missionary to runaways after going on a mission trip to Alaska and meeting teenage runaways.  I used to have a full-time job working with teenage runaways.

I wanted to be a photographer. I am a photographer. Check out my photography blog for some of my latest work.

I don’t know why I had not thought of this before but I’ve done or am currently doing every single thing I ever wanted to do! It is absolutely amazing to realize that God knew all the things that I wanted to do and he made a way for me to do them. I wonder what else I will be when I grow up.

Psalm 37:4 says,

Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, Living Well, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting, Photography

One response to “When I Grow Up

  1. Angie

    I love this! (I’m not so sure I WANTED to be all of these current careers that I’m dabbling in when I grew up, LOL!) But seriously, the Lord is so good!!! It’s an amazing thing to know that He loves us so much, delights in us so, that He desires to fulfill our greatest desires! What an amazing God He is!!!

Leave a Reply

