Babies Don’t Keep

I found a Lego creation on a shelf in my bedroom before bed time. When I took it back to the boys’ room they informed me that they had built it for their Daddy.  They told me that it’s a tank with a German flag on it. We talked about how Lego creations are not meant to last forever and A said “We should take a picture of it. That way we can keep it.”

You’d think his Mommy was a photographer or something. I definitely think of photographs as a way to “keep” something.

Andy turned 7 today, and I once again I am reminded that kids don’t “keep.” It seems like just yesterday I met him for the very first time. My little boy isn’t a baby any more, but I am so thankful that I took these photos of him to I can remember his first days and months.

046

fb20060330

fb20061015__106bw

I love this quote by Ruth Hamilton:

Cleaning and scrubbing will wait ’till tomorrow, but children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow. So quiet down cobwebs! Dust go to sleep! I’m rocking my baby. Babies don’t keep.

fbDSC_0022

He’s growing up. He loves Star Wars and Angry Birds. He is very inquisitive and  wants to know everything about the world around him. He loves to read. He’s caring and kind-hearted. He’s the best big brother ever. It’s okay that babies don’t keep, but I wish they wouldn’t grow up so quickly. 

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting, Photography

2 responses to “Babies Don’t Keep

  1. Angie

    Awww, so sweet… And what a beautiful quote! Happy Birthday, Andy!!!

  2. Caroyn Anderson

    Michelle, what a doll she is! And you are so right, babies don’t keep! Raising these little ones is the most important job in the world, and the most rewarding. Have you ever saw the quote, “The hardest job you’ll ever love” That certainly applies to raising children. I treasure those early years with my little boys. (now all big grown up men,)

Leave a Reply

