Lost and Found

I got my high school class ring back today after losing it at least 15 years ago. When I lost it I was heartbroken. My grandparents let me design my own ring as a gift to me when I was in high school.

The other day my mom called to tell me that someone found my class ring.  I almost started crying.  My mom gave me the number of someone to call. When I called the very pleasant lady told me that a man had brought a ring to my former high school and he wanted to try to find its owner.  The records kept at the school did not go back far enough so the school called the administration building’s records office.

The kind lady at the records office told me how the man who found my ring worked at the local college and he found my ring in the spare tire compartment in the back of the van.  My only guess at how it ended up in the back of a van is that during on of the times I was working in the college photography department I had helped load and unload equipment and somehow my ring slipped off. She also told me how she first called the old number in my records and then looked my parents up in the phone book.  She gave me a number to reach the finder of my ring and we set up a time to meet.

I called the man and we set up a time to meet. When he put the ring into my hand I was in disbelief. I confessed that I never ever thought I would see that ring again. I gave him a movie gift card as a small token of my appreciation. He didn’t want to accept it but I insisted. I am overjoyed to have my ring back!

There is a great deal of good in the world of that I am confident.

Getting my ring back makes me think of all the lost and found stories in the Bible.  How much does God rejoice over someone who has gone down the wrong path and come back to Him no matter how much time has past?  God knew how happy I would be to have my ring back because He knows how much it means to me.  I am so thankful to be found in Him and know that He treasures me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Living Well

Leave a Reply

