Ring Around the Chicken and Cotton Candy

My kids made up a new song to use instead of “Ring Around The Rosy,” called “Ring Around the Chicken. Here are the words:

“Ring around the chicken, pocket full of chicken. Chicken, chicken, we all go chickeny.

After this they proceed to bock, bock, ba-gock and flap their arms like chickens.  The older four sing together but even the littlest one joined in with bocks and arm-flapping. They are hilarious to watch!

After every one was in bed, I told James that I was going outside for a little while and he asked if I was okay and I told him, “Yeah, I’m really good.” He made the funniest face at me. I felt incredibly thankful and incredibly blessed and I wanted to enjoy the sunset. I got news that my blood glucose test was normal and my iron levels are good. I said goodnight to my crew. I made a little girl smile and laugh with a silly story about fluffy sheep. This was after she was oh so sad and she could not admit just how tired she was after we let her stay up just a little bit past her bedtime watching one of her favorite movies “Happy Feet.” A little boy wrapped his arms around my neck and hugged me tightly. Another leaned over his bed rail so I could plant a kiss on his cheek and he could plant a kiss on mine. A little girl climbed into her bed and as I sang her a song she put her arms around my neck and pretended to be asleep, but her sweet infectious giggles gave her away.  One sleepy sweetheart fell asleep before goodnights, and she didn’t stir while the others were tucked in.

The sunset sky looked like cotton candy, with it’s hues of pink, purple, and blue. As so often is the case, I could not resist getting my camera out to capture some of God’s most wonderful artwork. No one paints quite like Him.  cotton candy sunset

fbDSC_3872

fbDSC_3884I started to type this while I was sitting on my front steps, but I got chased back into the house by the mosquitos. In spite of this, I still got to watch the lightning bugs come out and two robins perched on the fence undisturbed by my presence until I stood to go inside.  

 

These are just a few of the things that give me a thankful heart. I love how God blesses us when we work for Him and we stop and realize He really is the Giver of all good things.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Living Well, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting

Leave a Reply

