Watermelon Belly

According to Babycenter.com at 34 weeks my baby weighs about 4 3/4 pounds (about the size of a cantaloupe and is almost 18 inches long. I’m feeling very round these days though and my baby girl seems to be more like a big watermelon than a little cantaloupe!

The other day after vacuuming 4 rooms of the house I was sore and tired. I said to my husband, “I’m out of shape.” He replied, “You’re not out of shape. You’re just a different shape.”

I bought a new dress shirt that is extra long to wear for church. I showed it to my husband paired with a skirt. He told me that it looked nice. I told him that I felt like a house. He reminded me, “There is another human growing inside of you.”

My current habit is to have either my kids or my hubby check my shirts while I raise my arms to see if they look too tight or if they cover my baby bump. Sometimes I raised my arms and I can feel my belly showing just a little. My husband, always being logical said about my belly, “It sticks out so far you can’t see under there, so it doesn’t matter. You are great with child. Get over it. There is nothing you can do about it.

I have done this whole pregnancy thing a time or two or six. I know the drill.  I know that I am a petite young lady and once I reach an indefinite number of weeks in my pregnancy there is no room for the baby to go expect for out in front of me.

Soon and very soon we are going to meet our newest little princess and my watermelon belly will shrink in time. Until then I can decide to laugh or cry but, I will try to laugh most of the time.

Leave a comment

August 14, 2013 · 9:26 am

Leave a Reply

