Highlights of the Day

Ahhh . . . the calm after the storm.  Life is always crazy around here. It seems like lately it has been louder than usual.  After everyone was in bed I just sat and listened to the quiet.

In almost three weeks Miss G has grown a lot, but not enough to fit into size 1 diapers.  I figured this out after buying Miss G her first pack of diapers. We were down to the last of newborn diapers that my awesome mom-in-law bought this summer at a yard sale. As soon as I took one diaper out of the package I knew that I had made a mistake. Those size 1 diapers were humongous! I didn’t even try to put them on, but only held them up next to her. They covered half of her torso. I’m afraid I would have a baby Urkele if I put her in those diapers. She will grow into the diapers eventually.

One of the highlights of my day was walking into the bathroom to find my oldest son, who is almost 8 years old clapping for my next to youngest daughter who turns 2 in December. “Danielle went potty!” She sat on the potty all by herself and went potty. She been doing this for the past two weeks. The first times she did  it she took off all her clothes and I would find her just sitting there.  Most of the time nothing happens. She has progressed and learned that she can keep her shirt on and tonight she had taken off her pants and just pulled her diaper down. I don’t have time to “potty-train” her right now, but I am totally into the idea of her potty-training herself!  Little Miss Independent tries to do EVERYTHING by herself any way. She might as well let her figure out how to potty in the potty.

Tonight before bed, I found my oldest singing to his siblings the German lullaby that their Daddy always sings to them.  Daddy is working out-of-town until tomorrow, so my boy decided to take over and sing a bed time song. He knew I was busy trying to calm Miss G down because she was screaming like she was starving and he melted my heart and made his Mommy proud.

I keep feeling like I should be back to feeling normal and then I totally wear myself out during the day.  I have to keep reminding myself that I JUST had a baby less than three weeks ago. I still need to rest and recover but I have six kids.

I HAVE SIX KIDS!  Oh my goodness! Sometimes it is hard for me to believe it, but I have to confess I cannot imagine my life without any of them.  They are my treasures. They are little ones entrusted to me by the creator of the universe. When I am down on myself for messing up this whole Mom gig I try to remember that I truly am just doing the best that I can. No one else can be their Mom.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting

Leave a Reply

