Checking the Human Box

I got the call that every parent dreads, the call from the principal’s office. When she told me who she was my heart started beating faster because I knew my kid had gotten in trouble. His offense was nothing major. But when James and I sat him down to talk to him he was overwhelmed by shame to the point of tears. He made me cry. He knows better, but he does what he knows he should not.

I have the same problem. I have been thinking a lot about how many times every day I mess up. A few nights ago while nursing Gabrielle at 3 a.m. I was reading about how the Holy Spirit helps us develop self-control so that can avoid messing up. Then I woke up the next morning and went right back to messing up. For some reason, in my head I keep telling myself that I am just “checking the human box.”  I am not perfect. I do try to stay positive. I am only human and like every human I make mistakes. I get grumpy. I yell. I complain. I judge.

Human – check.

A work in progress – check.

Forgiven – check.

I am so thankful that God sent Jesus so that I can be forgiven of all my sins. I don’t have to be perfect, but I do have to try my best. I do have to take personal responsibility for the times that I mess up. When it comes down to it, forgiven is what matters most.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Family, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting

Leave a Reply

