Day 1 of Lent – Giving Up Thanks

I have been thinking about what I am going to “give up” for Lent this year. I’ve decided that I am going to write down different circumstances that I am thankful for every day for the next forty days.

Above my television there is a 20×30 photograph of a mountain with six birds flying in the sky. I took the photograph in Alaska in the summer of 1997. It was the first time I had been away from my home, my friends and my family for any length of time and I went on a month long mission trip to Alaska with Teen Mania Ministries. For a month we traveled to different places doing a drama that was the story of Jesus, only with a king, his crew, pirates, and mimes. That month changed my life. I grew deeper in my personal faith. I made some wonderful friends, who I still keep in touch with today. I started journaling my prayers.  I witnessed a miracle. I didn’t watch t.v. for an entire month. God gave me a heart for runaways. I prayed with strangers. 

I’m thankful for that trip to Alaska and for all the things that I learned on that trip!

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Living Well

Leave a Reply

