Life With Six Kids – My Messy Beautiful

Every day is a crazy roller coaster raising six kids from eight years old to six months old. My boys are eight and six. My girls are five, three, two, and 6 months old.

There is food under the kitchen table after every meal. There is almost always some kind of argument going on among the group. There are mountains of laundry to move here, there, and everywhere. Someone always seems to be drawing on the walls or the table with crayons. In my room there is a large collection of kid clothes that don’t fit. It needs to be sorted and taken down to the basement and I have no idea how long it has been there or how long it will continue to be there! My bathroom always seems to have lotion, soap, or toothpaste the walls, the sink, and the mirrors. There are toys absolutely every where! It’s a mess, but it means that I have a full house.

fbDSC_5800Each of my kids is absolutely amazing. Their sweet smiles are wonderful. The sound of their infectious laughter and giggles are music to my soul. When they are not trying to conquer and destroy each other, it is so much fun to watch and to listen to them playing. They are the most imaginative kids ever! The words that come out of their mouths are sometimes frightening, sometimes surprising, and often times just plain awesome.

Every day I GET hugs and kisses. Every day I GET to laugh and smile and laugh some more! Every day I GET to watch six little people grow into amazing human beings! I have learned that sharing our moments of crisis with family and friends really helps me to laugh about them! Laughing so you don’t cry still counts as laughing, right?

It is not our messiness that matters. The laughter, the smiles, the hugs, and the kisses matter! The LOVE is definitely what matters. I am a messy, beautiful warrior on a mission to be a better child of God, a better Mommy, a better wife, and a better photographer. I try to do my best to show my little people about life and loving with God’s love. It’s a messy job but somebody’s got to do it!

This essay and I are part of the Messy, Beautiful Warrior Project — To learn more and join us, CLICK HERE!  And to learn about the New York Times Bestselling Memoir Carry On Warrior: The Power of Embracing Your Messy, Beautiful Life, just released in paperback, CLICK HERE!

messy-beautiful-700b

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Living Well, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting

One response to “Life With Six Kids – My Messy Beautiful

  1. I have been there! I also had 6 in 7 1/2 years. Your description is what my house was like for years. Mine are a bit older now – 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15 – so it’s a whole different kind of exhaustion and mess. 🙂 Bless you – you are right, the LOVE is what’s important.

Leave a Reply

