Never-ending Chaos

The sound of my fingers hitting the keys of my laptop . . . That is all that I hear. My sons are getting a taste of loading the dishwasher after dinner so that I don’t have to stay up doing it after everyone goes to bed.  Life is pretty crazy with six kids. A friend of mine who has 4 kids and I were talking about how people ask us, “How do you do it?” I don’t know how I do it. I just do and lots of chaos happens.

Yesterday’s chaos started with little people asking if they could have breakfast. I can’t think of any time when I have ever said, “No, you guys can’t have breakfast.” I think there are only some times when I tell them that they need to wait, but even that doesn’t happen very often.

For about the millionth time my son could not find any pants to wear. I do not have any idea how this is even possible because he has way too many clothes. I also know for a fact that he has more than 3 pairs of pants.  For a while he had been putting pants that didn’t fit “just right.” back into the laundry hamper. I have no idea how many times I was re-washing clean pants. I don’t really want to know at this point.

Another son could not find his library books. He was blaming it on our resident monster before he remembered that he left the books at school.

I fluffed an entire load of wet laundry without heat! I asked one of girls to empty the dryer into a laundry basket and so she did. When I tried to move the basket it weighed a lot more than it should have and that’s how I discovered that everything was still very wet.  I checked the dryer settings. The monster that lives at my house apparently discovered how to turn knobs on the dryer.

I pulled a various assortment of things out of the baby’s mouth. I have 5 other kids and I still do not understand the fascination of picking random things off the floor and putting them in your mouth.

The same monster was found using her brother’s booster seat to climb on top of her dad’s desk.

The monster and her sister were caught using the bathroom step stool to get lotion out of the closet.

A little girl threw a fit because she was not going to get a snack unless she ate more of her dinner, and so if only by some miracle she came to her senses and just at more of her dinner.

The baby crawled down the hall and into the bathroom twice and into her brothers’ room once.

All of that was yesterday!

To start our day the girls and I worked on cleaning their room. I found the Apple TV remote control shoved halfway the under the toy box and as an added bonus I found our extra van key in the toy box! After finding two toys that go together Eliana said, “It is amazing what you can find when you clean up.” Indeed it is.

The fun and chaos never end!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting

Leave a Reply

