Shenanigans! Again!

There are always lots of different things going on at any given moment around our house! Isn’t there some movie where the main character shouts, “They’re everywhere! They’re everywhere!” That was me with my kids today. It started two pretty rotten nights of sleep. One 5 hour sleep night, and then another that was very broken with an over dramatic almost three-year-old who was so miserable with a cold that she cried and yelled and eventually was allowed to sleep in my bed. She only had congestion and runny nose, but at one point she almost had me convinced me that she needed to go the hospital. It was her yelling and crying frantically while pushing on her eyelid and says, “Ouch! My eye hurts! My eye hurts!” over and over for over for more than 15 minutes, that nearly sent me over the edge in the wee hours of the morning. Amazingly she didn’t wake any of the other kids and her Daddy only stirred to ask if she was okay.

Our morning routine consisted of everyone doing Bible Study together. We are taking about the names for Jesus during the Advent season. Miss Isabel today was grumping about everyone being mean to her and wearing a frown all morning so I asked her aunt if she would take her for an adventure with her cousin.  Miss Danielle was a snotty puffy-faced mess all day today. She would complain about her nose, her throat, and her hurt finger at different times though out the day.  Her nose would run or she would sneeze start crying! I had to coax her into getting tissues to wipe her nose. That high-pitched crying, “ugh, ugh, ugh,” was like nails on the chalkboard for me today.

Then Gabrielle was into absolutely everything. She had two baths within 2 hours. The first bath was only partly her fault. Her brother left a mostly eaten bowl of yogurt on the dining table. She climbed into a chair and helped herself to some yogurt but not without getting some in her hair.  Her brother tried to help by wiping her off. I noticed that her hair was sticking up in all kind of funny directions and when I asked what happened to her hair Andy told me that she had gotten some yogurt on herself and he had wiped it off.  Upon further investigation I discovered the dishcloth that he used was not a clean one but one that I had used to clean the dirty stove off earlier.  After taking her into the bathroom I undressed her and turned to get a towel and came back to her standing in a puddle on the floor. Fabulous! I threw a hand towel over the puddle and instead of starting on dinner, Gabrielle and her crunchy hair got a good scrub.

The dinner request was for little pizzas today. This is something Daddy started with them and they loved it. They cut out rounds of pizza dough and then top their own mini pizzas. Andy was telling Gabrielle how Daddy invented the little pizzas, because of course Daddy is a hero in the eyes of his son. This was all well and good except that Danielle wanted a front row seat and was coughing and sneezing and snotty. I kept trying to get her out of the kitchen but she was so pitiful.

While I made dinner with the kids, the older kids were all arguing. Apparently Andy wanted very badly to work on learning German using the Duo Lingo app on the iPad and his siblings were not making it easy for him to hear the speaking part of his lessons. He took the iPad into the bathroom to complete the lessons and every so often one of the kids would come to me and tell me that Andy was being mean or doing this or that to them because he did not want them in the bathroom.  He came out a few times to tell me that they were bothering him and he could not hear the lesson to finish it.  I ended up making his mini pizzas for him so that he could learn German.

The pizzas had been in the oven for a little while when Isabel ran up to me and said, “Mommy it’s an emergency. Gabrielle is in the bathroom and she got soap all over her head.” :::Sigh::: “Who left the bathroom door open and the light on?” I walk into the bathroom and sure enough Gabrielle has the shampoo and a big glob of it in her hair and on her shirt. Into the bathtub she went for yet another bath!  I remember the pizza after taking her out of the tub and I yelled for Joshua to hang on to my damp and towel-covered girl. I check the bottoms of the pizzas and they look slightly brown so I pull them out of the oven and then get Gabrielle dressed.

After sitting down to eat I realized that my pizza was still a little doughy. Because making pizzas with little kids takes a long time the pizza dough was more thick than usual and needed to bake a little while longer. The kids ate their pizzas and I ate less than half of mine.  This is why we let Daddy cook whenever possible.

I had this awesome plan to get everyone’s socks and underwear washed before bedtime.  I washed my clothes first because I only have so many things that fit me correctly these days. I had the kids gather up all the laundry so I could wash whites. It was after dinner that I realized I still had not gotten the load of whites in the washer. No sweat, I thought . . . I let the kids stay up and watch a short video to give the clothes more time to dry but it did not work out! Thankfully there was not too much argument about not having what they needed at bedtime because they were so tired they didn’t care.

It’s not even 10 o’clock but this Mommy is going to join her kids in getting some shut-eye! I am hoping and praying for better health and maybe a few less shenanigans, but who I am kidding! Life without shenanigans just isn’t any fun!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Mommy Thoughts, Parenting

Leave a Reply

